The Maven Gypsy

 

 

“What a find! Great Value, Great food!”

Reviewed March 28, 2011

“Walk down to the beach in the morning and start your day watching seals. Comfy, cozy, lots of character. Christine’s suggestions on what to see and do were great. We changed our plans and are glad we did. Breakfast was perfectly lovely–French press coffee and tasty, fresh foods. Smokey was the best-trained puppy I’d ever seen and he was only a few months old! Stay here! You will not regret it.

I had seen the Gypsy on Trip advisor before my trip, and really wanted to stay there, but we were planning on camping instead. Unfortunately, due to timing and weather, we weren’t able to camp. Fortunately, they had a room available as we were in the area–sweet serendipity! Definitely a highlight of the trip. We stayed in the main house.”

 

“Just like home – but with a better view!”

Reviewed March 10, 2011

“What attracted me to this B&B in the first place was the lack of floral fabric and wallpaper. It’s rare to come across a B&B with more modern aesthetic! I stayed at the Maven Gypsy twice in the summer/fall of 2010 and had a great experience both times. I’ve recommended it to friends as well. The breakfast was delicious, and I loved that the eggs came from the chicken on the property. The decor was very homely, but not stuffy. The beach is not for swimming, but has a great Cape Breton rustic quality. Great for picking up driftwood! And Christine and Devon (the owners) are great! They treated me like an old friend. Ask Devon about the butter tarts! The best I’ve had!”

 

“This place was perfect!”

Reviewed January 10, 2011

“My boyfriend and I stayed at the Maven Gypsy in August of 2010 and it was perfect. We stayed in one of the stand alone cabins and we just loved it. The room was clean and sweetly decorated – we stopped in at the big house to say hello and use the wireless most days and found the company helpful and charming. We got a lot of great recommendations. We often packed up lunches and took them on our daily adventures. Short 20 minutes through the beautiful Cape Smokey Mountain zone to Ingonnish harbor and town, to the north. To the south, only 30 Minutes to Baddeck and 15 minutes great breakfast and dinners at the Clucking Hen.”

 

“Comfy and Secluced”

Reviewed December 15, 2010

“My husband and I stayed in a cabin for two nights. It was very comfortable and close to the beach. Christine and Devin, the owners, were very friendly and gave us great information on hiking trails. We highly recommend the Maven Gypsy.”

 

“Very relaxing and comfortable”

Reviewed November 9, 2010

“Our stay at the Maven Gypsy B&B was very relaxing and comfortable. We had a spacious room with an ensuite bath. Beautiful bay window that looked out to the ocean across the street. There was also a sitting room/TV room for all the guest to enjoy at their leisure. Our hosts were a great couple that truely enjoyed what everyone was interested in and what their travel plans were. Christine gave us great advise on dinner at the Mainstreet restaurant. Dinner was great at a very reasonable price. Breakfast was plentiful, you could choose what you wanted the night before. We ate in the little sunporch that looked out to the ocean. We would definately recommend this B&B to anyone looking to stay a the beginning (or end) of the Cabot Trail.”

 

“Best Breakfasts of our Whole Trip”

Reviewed November 8, 2010

“Our driving recent driving trip through the Canadian Maritimes included stays at several B&B’s, but our two nights at the Maven Gypsy were especially memorable, especially for Devin’s breakfasts. His recipe for Keltic sodabread was a precious souvenir! The B&B is a short walk from a rocky beach that is typical of the rugged Cape Breton Island coastline. The location is well situated for anyone exploring the Cabot Trail. The proprietors were very knowledgeable about all of the various hiking trails around the island, and their recommendations for lunches and dinners were spot-on. Christine and Devin have certainly been gypsies (they recently moved back to Canada from Grenada!), but they know their business (hence the maven).”

 

“Ideal Central Location – Great Hosts”

Reviewed October 30, 2010

“Spent two nights at the Maven Gypsy B&B. Explored Neil’s Harbour, attended a ceilidh. Maven Gypsy was quiet and hosts were very welcoming. Certainly the location allowed us to explore that side of Cape Breton and allowed us to get a good start on our trip following our stay. ( We toured the Cabot Trail clockwise). The Breakfsats were good, the rooms clean.”

 

“Heaven on earth for travellers!”

Reviewed October 17, 2010

“It was our first trip to Nova Scotia and first time at Cape Breton Island, therefore, we just discovered The Maven Gypsy. it was really the last minute choice,but the right and the most incredible of our journey. Before we actually met the owners, we spoke on the phone and they sounded so nice, friendly and reliable. We were surprised, people trust others so easily. we felt comfortable and like at home since we step into the cottage! We felt the atmosphere of love and friendship . The place is super clean, neat with a very cozy style and elegant touch, I wish we could of stay more than a day! Christine and Devine are not only amazing hostess, but team, which reflect on the bed and breakfast place. Oh yeah, and the breakfast was out of this world, many cafes in the area can not compare to the experience we had! Also, i am not talking about the nature view out the place …..where you can even spot the early mousse 😉 it was amazing….. If you are in the area or not far, dont miss a chance to meet Christine and Devine and stay at the Maven Gypsy. You wont ever forget it, its a good memory and feeling. When we back to Cape Breton, we defiantly coming back there!!”

“COZY”

Reviewed October 16, 2010

“Our stay was superb & included a huge breakfast with eggs from their own hen house. Also apples straight from their trees. The room was sparkling clean & had a nice view of the Atlantic Ocean. Very quiet.. Hostess Christine very knowledgeable about area & we traded recipes with Devin. The dog, Smokey, was a plus as we missed our own dog while away from home. I wish we could go back next year. Would recommend it to couples traveling to get away from hustle & bustle of city life. It was perfect for us.”

 

“As if I was at home!”

Reviewed October 14, 2010

 “All was perfect and Christine & Devin welcomed me most graciously. I promise to return, 3 days is not enough to visit Cape Breton and the Cabot Trail. I’ll be back and Maven Gypsy B&B will be my home away from home – no question.”

 

“The Maven Gypsy was wonderful!”

Reviewed October 14, 2010

“My husband picked the Mayven Gypsy from an internet search. I had my reservations but once we arrived at the cabins I was delighted! The cabin was a rustic retreat located in the woods but wihtin walking distance to the coastline. It was quiet and secluded and I found myself never wanting to leave. The owners were wonderful and the breakfasts were superb!!! We missed seeing a moose one morning but only because we strolled down to watch the tide come in as the sun was coming up!!! What a view and what a wonderful experience. We loved their dog too and it allowed me to get my “dog fix’ since I missed my own dog.”

 

“LOVED it here!”

Reviewed October 13, 2010

“We absolutely loved our stay in one of the Maven Gypsy cottages. The cottage was adorable and perfectly clean and Christine and Devin couldn’t have been better hosts. They were beyond sweet, made amazing food and were really helpful and full of advice when we told them that our sister and brother-in-law are interested in opening a B&B in the area. Such lovely people!” 

 

“THE place to stay near Cape Breton Park”

Reviewed October 13, 2010

“We arrived at the Maven Gypsy late one night and were instantly impressed with the accommodations. We had a cottage around the back which was well appointed and set up with everything we needed for the night. The food was amazing and Christine and Devin were probably two of the nicest people we met during our entire trip through NS, PEI and NB. I would recommend the Gypsy with 100% enthusiasm for anybody traveling through the Cape! Next time, we’ll be using this as our base of operations and spend a few days there! “

 

“What a view”

Reviewed September 30, 2010

“We stayed at Christine and Devin’s Maven Gypsy after completing the Cabot Trail. The house is an older house with lots of character. Our room was big and the bed comfy. We did not have an ensuite, but we had the bathroom all to ourselves. There was lots of hot water and fluffy towels. The view from our bedroom window was incredible, looking for miles out to sea. It was a nice walk across the field to the beach, we watched a beautiful sunset. It’s a compliment to say we were deafened by the silence – so peaceful. Christine served us coffee and cake in the evening and we had a delicious and plentiful breakfast the next morning, delicious tasting fresh eggs from their own hens. Devin is a very good cook and Christine is a very gregarious and welcoming hostess. They have cottages to rent also, they will bring your breakfast to you, and they looked very comfortable. We would definitely recommend the Maven Gypsy.”

 

“A very comfortable, cozy and all-around enjoyable place to stay”

Reviewed September 27, 2010

“On our tour of Cape Breton Island, my Dad and I enjoyed a memorable stay at the Maven Gypsy. We felt immediately welcomed by our friendly and hospitable host and hostess, who showed us to a very clean and tastefully decorated room. All grounds were well kept, and all facilities were impeccably clean. In the evening we enjoyed some time and a scenic, pebbly beach just a three minute walk away. The next morning, our breakfast was a choice of among three possible home-made meals (they all sounded delicious, and I had some difficulty picking one). In the end I enjoyed the “Granola Head” option – a healthy meal of fresh fruit and yogurt, granola, and super home-baked goods. My Dad’s “Lumberjack” breakfast looked equally appetizing! For all this we paid an extremely reasonable fee; we found it to be among the best deals for B&B’s around. I would have no hesitation in recommending this business to travelers of all ages.” 

 

“Great location and great owners!”

Reviewed September 25, 2010

“We spent a week at the Maven Gypsy and really enjoyed it! It is a short walk from a very quiet romantic rocky beach, about 20 minutes from the Cape Breton National Park and Ingonish, and right on the Cabot trail. The cabin that we stayed in was small, but for the price we paid it was really great value. The best asset though are the owners, who were genuinely loving their job! They could not do more to make our stay perfect. If we ever go back to NS, this is definitely where we will stay!”

 

“Cozy spot with delicious food”

Reviewed September 20, 2010

Christine and Devin take a lot of pride in their gem, The Maven Gypsy. They make you feel so welcome. Devin’s home made meals were terrific and we wish we could have experienced another day just to be able to eat more! The cottages are quiet and cozy. If we drive the Cabot Trail for a 4th time, we would call Christine and Devin again. Their level of service in hosting is rare but was sincerely appreciated.”

 

“Fun place to stay”

Reviewed September 14, 2010

“We loved staying at the Maven Gypsy! Crissy and Devon were super and Devon is a great cook. It is always special staying at a place that makes you feel special.”

 

Peace and Tranquility on the Cabot Trail”

Reviewed September 14, 2010

“Arrived at the Maven Gypsy on August 16th, 2010. Stayed cabin #3. There was no one else there so we had the back of the woods all to ourselves, what a treat. The views are gorgeous and the cabin was clean and well equipped. Christine and Devin are excellent hosts and will provide you with all the info you need when visiting the area. Take the time to walk to the beach. It is private and beautiful. We saw a family of seals just of of the coast! I would definately recommend this as a place to stay for some r&r during your travels. Beds were comfy and it was so quiet.”

 

“Highly recommended, fantastic stay!”

Reviewed September 12, 2010

“We had a brilliant few days at the Gypsy Maven with Christine and Devin. They are so good at what they do and really passionate about travel themselves. They are very sociable, helpful and full of humour. They provided a lovely breakfast in our cabin (no.3) and were very accommodating, providing local info about weather, food and walking trails. I would definitely go back if I went tp Cape Breton, don’t look elsewhere!”

 

“The Maven Gypsy is a B & B with a refreshingly unique charm/atmosphere with truly creative and energetic hosts.”

Reviewed September 9, 2010

“A fantastic B & B! It was just what we were looking for. It had a very unique style in comparison to other B & B’s we stayed at. Our host/hostess were most accomodating, and gave us the “props” we needed to enjoy a lovely evening at the beach just across the road (as we were traveling on our bicycles). The breakfast was fantastic-the only downside was having to choose from the great options! We would make a point of going out of our way just to stay there again.”

 

“A true B&B gem nestled in the beauty of Cape Breton!”

Reviewed September 8, 2010

“My husband and I stayed two wonderful nights at this beautiful and historical guest house. Our gracious hosts, Christine and Devin, totally pampered us with their very warm and upbeat welcome, most comfortable lodgings and exquisite breakfasts. Christine is an expert in the art of hospitality, and Devin’s banana bread is out of this world! Falling asleep to the sound of the ocean’s waves, and waking up to the wonderful aroma of breakfast after a great night’s sleep is as close to perfect as it gets!”

 

“Amazing B&B – everything you want in a stay on Cape Breton Island”

Reviewed September 3, 2010

“My Mom & I were on a whirlwind tour of Cape Breton Island and we have to say that staying at the Maven Gypsy was an amazing part of out great adventure. Christine is an excellent host full of great information and she was warm and welcoming. We arrived a bit late in the evening and were hungry. We were directed to a great restaurant up the road and Christine called ahead to let them know we were on our way. The breakfast was fantastic and my Mom didn’t stop talking about it for 2 days!! The beach was spectacular with an eagle soaring above and the seals in the waves- it was breathtaking. We would go back in a heartbeat and definitely stay longer. As an avid coffee drinker – the french press was a special treat!”

 

“Excellent Hospitality!”

Reviewed August 19, 2010

“The owners of the Maven Gypsy treated us extremely well during our stay. The room was great, breakfast was amazing and they were more than happy to offer suggestions for the remainder of our travels. If you do end up staying there, be sure to take the time to walk across the street and down to the water – you might even get to see some seals playing in the ocean!”

 

“Comfortable, hospitable and wonderful food!”

Reviewed August 18, 2010

“We only stayed one night, but were made to feel most welcome by Christine and Devin. The room we had was very comfortable – spacious and well furnished – and the food was outstanding. Because there are few restaurants nearby, we had an evening meal as well as breakfast. Devin’s cooking was wonderful. We have already recommended the Maven Gypsy to several others who were planning trips on the Cabot Trail.”

 

“Wished we could have stayed longer!”

Reviewed August 15, 2010

“The Maven Gypsy was a delightful place to stay. Christine and Devin were incredible hosts and the breakfast was fabulous. They were very helpful for ideas of things to do and we especially liked their new puppy. The B and B was charming, comfortable and very clean. Wished we could have stayed longer!” 

 

“The Attention to Detail was Fabulous”

Reviewed August 6, 2010

“The Maven Gypsy was a fantastic experience for us. Very clean and comfortable accomodations and the place is decorated with a great attention to detail, terrific breakfast prepared by Devin (quite the culinary artist) and a wonderful view of the ocean. We enjoyed our warm and friendly hosts and would definitely return. Other members of my family will be traveling later this summer and fall to Cape Breton and I have told them to stay at the Maven Gypsy.”

 

“A perfect combination of personal attention, privacy, and a great breakfast!”

Reviewed August 6, 2010

“beautiful evening happy hour, and they suggested a great little spot for supper not far The Maven Gypsy was a great stay. Hosts Christine and Devin provided a perfect stay, at a great value. Their exceptional background in managing bed & breakfast operations worldwide made them attentive to details and sensitive to travelers’ needs as they offered the perfect combination of privacy, warm and quaint accommodations, and a lovely breakfast. The B&B was a perfect location along our Cabot Trail trip, and removed from any “touristy” overload. We enjoyed a walk down to the nearby rocky coast for a away. We’d definitely return!”

 

“A pleasant surprise!”

Reviewed August 4, 2010

“We stayed at the Maven Gypsy while traveling the Cabot Trail. It is a great location, easy to find and quiet. Across the road is a rocky beach where we were lucky enough to see seals in the ocean. I was unsure what to expect, I only had photos from the internet for reference. We were greeted by Christine, she is very friendly and makes you feel right at home. We booked the cottages since there was more than two of us. The cottages were a welcome surprise; cute, cozy, and very clean. Breakfast was brought to our cottage the next morning by Christine and Devin, and it was the best breakfast we had during our three week trip. Everything was fresh and delicious. We had a group of 6 and between the charming cottages and amazing breakfast we didn’t want to leave. I am a very hard to please traveler and I can honestly say I will stay there again if the opportunity arises, and I hope it does!”

 

“Very warm reception, nice couple, cozy rooms and excellent breakfast!”

Reviewed August 4, 2010

“We – fife adults – stayed 2 nights at Maven Gypsy Bed & Breakfast. After a very warm reception three nice, clean and charming rooms were presented to us. Christine and Devin gave us very competent and helpful advices concerning hiking tours and food, including two special restaurant addresses in Halifax. Their breakfast – three choices – was just great slow food!!”

 

“The Maven Gypsy is an impeccable B&B of quiet radiance and soft breezes.”

Reviewed August 4, 2010

“A gem along the Cabot Trail, the Maven Gypsy welcomes visitors with a lovely garden and two fabulous hosts. The food was creatively prepared gourmet and the coffee was served hot to your table in your own carafe. The beds were just amazing. It was the best night sleep I had on my excursion around Cape Breton. I loved the sweet room with awesome linens and was thrilled to find that there was wireless so I could sit in my overstuffed chair and check e-mail. The experience is one I will absolutely repeat, only this time with my partner so we can both revel in the soft ocean breezes.” 

 

“Peace and variety all in one place”

Reviewed August 4, 2010

“We stayed at the Maven Gypsy for 6 nights in one of the cottages. It was clean, quiet and comfortable, lots of space for two people. On the one rainy day we had, we happily spent it indoors, cooking a lovely dinner ( all the cooking utensils are provided). Christine and Devin were the perfect hosts, filling us in on local events and special places we might like to visit. Even though we weren’t staying in the B&B, we were welcome to use the wi-fi and Devin shared some of his delicious baking with us. We saw seals right from the beach and the location was close to many hiking paths (Cape Smokey was great!) and the national park. And if you miss the wildlife, there were always the chickens!”

 

“A great day at the beach”

Reviewed August 4, 2010

“A great day at the beach watching the gannets dive from impressive heights into the ocean to catch their dinner. The seals bobbing and feeding were a bonus. Then the refreshing thunder storm and rain readied us for the the BBQ. Not sure just how Christine & Devin arranged all this for us; we simply enjoyed. The cabin is a perfect place to relax and the fresh eggs in the hearty breakfast sandwich tasty indeed. Alas we were off to the next stop on our tour. Next time we will stay longer.”

 

“Fantastic”

Reviewed August 2, 2010

“A delightful resting and resourcing moment on a demanding bike trip. Hosts are simply the best you can find.”

 

“A Perfect Place”

Reviewed July 28, 2010

“A perfect place. I stayed in one of the charming cottages and really loved it. The scenery is beautiful, quite and relaxing. The cabins are situated within trees, well equipped, spotless clean and very cozy. There’s a verandah with every cabin for enjoying the view and the morning sun. The Maven Gypsy is an ideal starting point for exploring the Cabot Trail or just relaxing. To make the place perfect the hosts Christine and Devin are absolutely wonderful. They really care for their guests and they are doing a great job. I will definitely stay there whenever I am visiting Nova Scotia again.”

 

“Best place to stay on the Cabot Trail!”

Reviewed July 22, 2010

“This was the best B+B that we stayed in for our entire trip! Christine and Devin were welcoming and warm, but not overbearing. Their cottages were clean and comfortable and quiet! The food was healthful and delicious and there were so many options for breakfast. They are lovely people and are well versed in caring for those who stay with them. Highly recommended as the place to stay if you are on exploring the Cabot Trail.”

 

“A lovely home for gypsies!”

Reviewed July 20, 2010

“The Maven Gypsy was fantastic. Christine and Devin really know how to treat their guests. From the butter tart when we arrived to their help with an empty gas tank in our car, they were there for us all the way. They had lots of travel tips, DELICIOUS healthy, fresh food, and a friendly and welcome atmosphere (with a fun puppy!). I can’t say enough about their attentiveness and care to our travel needs from beginning to end. They are an awesome team!”

 

“Mesmerising”

Reviewed July 19, 2010

“Christine and Devin have created quite an atmosphere here and are well traveled. It felt like we were meeting long lost friends and the connection was amazing. Devin is an amazing cook and was able to whip up a dinner that was a middle eastern fusion in both the presentation as well as taste and they did this in no time. Christine is an amazing hostess and a very warm soul that makes you feel at home right away. I think we ended up leaving an hour later than we were supposed to the next day as we indulged in some amazing conversations that ranged from Malaysia to the Caribbean. The rooms are really well kept and are tastefully decorated.

Don’t forget to say hello to while you’re here – the most adorable puppy lab that assists Christine and Devin with their daily chores. Ah, Did I forget to mention the breakfast – again, quite the choices here but amazingly fresh and makes you full for the rest of the day! Worth it any day. If you’re headed up the Cabot trail, this is the place to stay – oh and they even have a wireless visa card machine!”

 

“A highlight of our trip!”

Reviewed July 11, 2010

“Wonderful food, charming hosts, excellent accomodations. The Maven Gypsy was a fantastic conclusion to our trip around Cape Breton. Christine and Devin are superb hosts who will charm you and make you want to return! The cabins are well appointed and comfortable. We found ourselves wishing we had known about the Maven Gypsy before our trip, we would have planned to stay another night! Perpare yourself for a dining treat, as Devin is a superb chef! The breakfast was one of our best meals while in Canada! While he was busy in the kitchen, Christine enchanted us with stories of their unique lifestyle. What a wonderful pair!”

 

“Perfect”

Reviewed July 9, 2010

“Right from the start we were made very welcome. It was like we were staying with friends. We were advised of what they had the offer and of the cost associated right from the start. (very reasonable priced) We are definitely going to be returning for another stay, hopefully cottage #3. The cottage was laid out with a kitchenette, queen bed and couch and complete with a 3 piece bath. It was all we had needed for our stay. We were also supplied with complimentary tea and coffee at the cottage. If you were to go to stay and make your own meals, pots, pans and dishes etc were supplied. The location was on the main cabot trail road but surrounded by trees and wildlife, which gave you a peaceful feeling . We had the option of either having a breakfast served in our unit or going to the main house which is also a B&B. We opted to have the breakfast in our unit in which was served on time and with a smile.

We enjoyed everything that was offered at The Gypsy Maven. We can only say that Christine and Devin are a sweetheart couple and hope they enjoy much success as they are truly giving their all to succeed.”

 

“Our best B&B experience ever!”

Reviewed July 9, 2010

“The Maven Gypsy is a beautiful old farmhouse overlooking the Alantic Ocean, surrounded by flowers, chickens, inviting little cabins, and nothing but good vibrations. We felt instantly at home with hosts Christine and Deven, and their new puppy–which they watched over carefully when he was playing outside so an eagle wouldn’t have the chance to swoop down and carry him off. Our swim in the North Atlantic was something I’ll never forget–especially since it was June! Great night of sleep in the comfortable cabins, and a wonderful full breakfast (with three choices of meals) cooked up by Devin. Christine explained to us that “maven” means “expert.” After our stay, we all agreed that Christine and Devin are maven gypsies, and hosts who make guests feel like family.”

 

“Wonderful, fun and accomodating host and hostess”

Reviewed June 15, 2010

“My daughter, grandson and I stayed at the Maven Gypsy Bed & Breakfast in one their cottages and found it to be perfect in all ways, the food was all home-made and yummy, the cottage very tidy and comfortable. We ate in the “big” house, and felt very welcomed and at home. I would highly recommend staying here. Coral Barclay”

 

“A fantastic get-a-way spot!”

Reviewed June 23, 2010

“This was my second stay in the cottages and it was more enjoyable than my first visit. This has do to the couple who run inn, as their warmth and friendliness create a very comfortable environment. The cottage was clean and provided a good location to tour the incredible Cabot Trail.”